Tag Archives: 2011

Jurors’ Choice Award

I recently attended the Preview Party and Awards Presentation for the 2011 Art Melt at the Louisiana State Museum in Baton Rouge, LA.  During the presentation, I was pleasantly surprised to see that as the very first award was presented, my painting “Trophy” suddenly flashed upon the screen.  I received the Jurors’ Choice Award in which juror Kelli Scott Kelley gave a talk about my work.  It was an honor just to be selected for the exhibition since these things can be tough to get into given the hundreds, sometimes thousands of entries juried competitions typically receive.  So imagine my surprise when my work was announced for an award.  And it gets better!  Later on, I was called upon again for an Honorable Mention (which, again, I am honored, though I am surprised that a work can receive more than one award).  All in all, it was a fun event and a great exhibit.  And even if you missed the opening, the show will be up through August 28th so there is still plenty of time.

Also of note- this is the first year that Art Melt is offering an exhibition catalogue.  The catalogue as well as the actual artwork are all available for purchase online at this link:  https://forum35.site-ym.com/store/view_product.asp?id=811134

To view more photos, visit www.AmyGuidry.com/events.html.

Looking Ahead

Sheppard Fine Arts Gallery, University of Nevada, Reno
Sheppard Fine Arts Gallery, University of Nevada, Reno

It’s a little early, considering this will take place next year, but I’m very happy to announce that my work will be in the “Myself” exhibition at the University of Nevada, Reno. The exhibit will take place in the Sheppard Fine Arts Gallery and is curated by gallery director, Marjorie Vecchio. There will also be an exhibition catalogue featuring essays by Joy Garnett and Mira Schor.

This will be the second time my work has been shown in Nevada. I came across the call for artists through Ms. Garnett’s blog and was excited to see that she would be contributing to the catalogue. I am honored to be one of the selected artists. Here is the official list: Funda Zeynep Ayguler, Marie Bergstedt, Megan Berner, Emma Bee Bernstein, Chris Carnel, Jean Marie Casbarian, Craig Cully, Megan Cump, Joe Delappe, Michael Eade, Peter Emerick, Joy Episilla, Elise Gardella, Alex Gingrow, Jen Graham, Cynthia Greig, Amy Guidry, Jen Harris, Rosi Hayes, Ahren Hertel, Amiee Hertog, Nene Humphrey, Suzanne Joelson, Josh Jordan, Jiyeaon Kim, Eunkang Koh, Kate Kretz, Larry Lee, Julie Leguin, Elizabeth Leister, Teryn Loebs, Holly Lynton, Megan Malone, Valerie Margolis, Lilly McElroy, Alan Mevis, Rob Millard-Mendez, Elizabeth Morisette, John Orth, Kathryn Pannepacker, Maria Paschalidou, Sarah Peters, Zoran Poposki, Robert Pritchard, Clifford Pun, Letitia Quesenberry, Carol Radsprecher, Erin Riley, Page Adriana Russell, Susannah Sayler, Matthew Schlagbaum, Tim Sharman, Jackie Skrzynski, John Steck Jr., Joshua Stern, Robin Tewes, Kristine Thompson, Clare Thorton, Mickayel Thurin, Christina Renfer Vogel, Deborah Wasserman, Jessica Watson, Orion Wertz, and Tammy Wofsey.

The exhibit will take place at the Sheppard Fine Arts Gallery of the University of Nevada, Reno from January 18th through February 18th. There will be an opening lecture and reception on January 20, 2011.